Domestic violence charges have risen in Orange County in recent months. Soon after the COVID-19 outbreak occurred calls to domestic violence hotlines rose. Family and domestic disputes have risen as a result of a range of factors including stay-at-home orders, increased stress and more.
If you are the subject of an Orange County DV restraining order, you may be facing charges of domestic violence in Orange County, which carry serious penalties including potential fines, probation, mandatory counseling, loss of child custody, loss of gun rights, criminal record, and deportation for non-citizens.
If a restraining order has been filed against you in Orange County, it is of the utmost importance to speak to an Orange County domestic violence attorney to ensure that your rights are protected and that your consequences are minimized moving forward.
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Orange County, you likely have been arrested and will be subject to a domestic violence restraining order. Three are three types of restraining orders that are utilized in Orange County and the rest of California:
Emergency Protective Order (EPO)
Family code section 6250 of California law allows an officer of the law to request an emergency restraining order if they believe that a person requiring protection is in immediate danger of domestic violence. Law enforcement offices are the only entities that can file for an EPO, and they can be filed 24 hours a day upon request.
Temporary Restraining Order (TRO)
A temporary restraining order in Orange County can last up to 25 days. This can be issued when a judge believes that a person is in imminent danger and requires protection before a court hearing. At the end of the period, a hearing is held to determine if a “permanent” restraining order should be issued.
Permanent Restraining Order
A permanent restraining order may be issued after a temporary restraining order and requires a court hearing. If a judge believes that a person has ongoing danger, a permanent restraining order may be put into effect. A domestic violence permanent restraining order is typically in effect for 5 years while other types such as civil harassment may be shorter in length.
Maltaise Cini is a highly experienced domestic violence lawyer in Orange County who can represent you if you are facing a domestic violence restraining order in Orange County, domestic violence charges or both. The consequences of either situation can be severe and affect your reputation, your employment, ability to see your children and more.
Time is of the essence if you are facing charges; the sooner you get an Orange County domestic violence attorney involved, the more likely that your consequences can be reduced. Contact Maltaise Cini today for a free consultation by calling (949) 660-1389 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org